FODMAP on the Road: McDonalds


Nederlands: MCDonalds Winterswijk
Nederlands: MCDonalds Winterswijk (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I went to McDonalds, where I frequently eat, the day after I decided to start the FODMAP diet and stared at the menu. I asked myself. What can I eat here? I got something and as I was decided to wean myself rather than cold-turkey off the Coca-Colas I got one of those. I regretted it cause I was gassy right after I left. So I decided to try to make a list……

Things I can eat at McDonalds

  • Beef burger patty
  • Chicken McNuggets – milage may vary because the breading contains gluten, but I seem not to react to it
  • Premium Bacon Ranch Salad with Grilled Chicken – crispy chicken is also an option if the breading does not cause problems for you
  • Premium Southwest Salad with Grilled Chicken – crispy again is an option if you can tolerate it
  • Fruit & Maple Oatmeal
  • Hash Browns
  • French Fries
  • Side Salad
  • McCafe Coffee
  • Minute Maid Premium Orange Juice
  • Dansani Water
  • Scrambled Egg
  • Canadian Bacon
  • Sausage
  • Bacon

Things I cannot have at McDonalds:

  • Buns – gulten
  • Big Mac Sauce – high fructose corn syrup
  • Wraps – gluten
  • Biscuits – gluten
  • Bagel – gluten
  • McGriddle – gluten
  • McMuffin – gluten
  • Cinnamon Melt – gluten

Can you think of anything I’ve missed? Comment below.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

